I Get by with a Little Help from my Friends

This past weekend, I was offered a new job. I was asked to make a decision about it in a short amount of time, and was left trying to make a decision that could alter the course of my career and in many ways my life. I was offered the opportunity to continue in my path of music therapy, working with some new populations with another music therapist.

The position is a three month position. It’s in the Cayman Islands.

I found myself reaching out to friends and family, asking advice, thoughts, input to help me make a decision in a short amount of time (I was being asked to decide in a mere day). With all of the ideas, questions and words of guidance, I sent an email to the employer saying that I would take the job.

And by clicking on that send button, I went from being the kind of person who would never make that kind of decision to leave my job and move to another country in the span of weeks for a temporary position, to the kind of person who is.

And then I promptly freaked out.

I have spent the past week reaching out again and again to friends and family to reassure me that I am not crazy for leaving the safety and security of what I have come to know as my home in New York City and my job of the last five years for a temporary position. And again and again, they have reassured me that my decision was not crazy. It was bold, daring, brave. And again and again my friends and family have assured me that no matter what happens after these three months, I will be able to rely on them. I already am, for their continued support.

If nothing else, this experience has already given me the gift of showing me how fortunate I am to have the people I have in my life. I found myself reaching out to people from all areas of my life, some who I speak to regularly, some of whom I haven’t spoken to in years. I have been blown away by the emails sent, the quotes of inspiration offered, the late night phone calls, and the kind reassurance of those who are standing right beside me.

Again and again, I have been told that I can take this journey. That I can build my wings as I take this leap. That taking this dive will land me in a better place. That people have faith in my skills, my ability, my potential. And that people won’t let me walk this path alone.

With that, I take the next steps on my journey, as I continue to challenge myself to be braver than I believe myself to be. Bravery is hard. Love makes it easier.

Leave a Reply

