A Life Uncommon

When you’re a single woman in her mid-thirties, in this society, it can be easy to think that you are doing something wrong. And when you’re at a wedding, listening to tales of love, it can easy to think that this is a world of haves and have nots, and you are distinctly in the latter category.

This is the mentality I was working to counter this weekend, as I attended the wedding of two lovely people.Dan-Jessie Wedding 2-15 001

The gift to me at this wedding was that it took place in Arizona, where I was surrounded by red rocks, beautiful sunsets, and miles of trails for me to explore. This allowed me ample time to be in nature, where I feel my strongest self.

The day after I arrived in Arizona, I was hiking in the Grand Canyon. It’s been about fifteen years since I was last at the Grand Canyon. I had visited it in college, while on a road trip with friends. I was thinking about this as I spent my time descending into the canyon. I thought about who I was at that time and what I expected of my life. If you had asked me at that point how I would have spent the next 15 years of my life, I would never have guessed that I would have walked on five of the seven continents. I would never have guessed I would be able to work in a career that used music to help people. I would never have guessed that I would meet the awesome little girl who is my niece. I would never have guessed that I would have climbed the tallest mountain in Africa, trekked the Himalayas, or would return to the Grand Canyon to experience it anew.

I say this, perhaps as a reminder to myself, and I suppose to anyone else who might need to hear it, that sometimes what feels like the unusual path, the unconventional path, the unexpected path, can carry treasures you never would have imagined.

And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

